Best drink I have ever had

Very elated by my weightlessnes, I head through the Park to Irving to catch a late lunch. “Neil, Neil ??!” It is Michael Hyde, old buddy from Stanford days, just standing by the side of the road in a lost corner of Golden Gate Park.  We hug, grin and exchange numbers. SF is a small city.

Next in line on Irving is Micado Japanese Restaurant. I eat Seafood Udon $9.95.  I am put off by the aesthetic of the dish which looks  like the fake food you see in the windows of Japanese restaurants. Frozen shrimps, scallops, mussels, fake crab, spinach and some kind of fish in broth with noodles. Big Asahi beer as reward for my neutrino like mass. It is ice cold and I am so thirsty after the boxing that I think it is the best drink I have ever had.

That beer was really good

I take a photo but ” No SD card inserted” flashes up.  I am so forgetful, the card is still in my computer. No problems, I zip out to the Walgreens on the corner. “Sure we have SD cards, hey there is  a special on this one today. 4 GB for $16.” The women in front of me in the checkout line are speaking Russian, everyone else is speaking Chinese.

So the food is no more than ok. It is more expensive than most places and I generally get the impression that the place is winding down. Check out the exterior.

The sixth age shifts Into the lean and slipper'd pantaloon, With spectacles on nose, and pouch on side, His youthful hose well sav'd, a world too wide, For his shrunk shank, and his big manly voice, Turning again towards childish treble, pipes And whistles in his sound.

One lingering French habit is the desire to drink coffee after lunch. I stop off at the wonderful Old Jerusalem Cafe a few blocks down on Irving.

Double Expresso with Pad

http://www.oldjerusalemcafe.com/

It is run by young Palestinian guys. The decor is sophisticated, the music is soft jazz, Piaf, Holliday, Trenet. The coffee is excellent and the internet is fast. I love this place. I finish this blog and prepare to cycle home in the bright sunshine feeling very good.

Go here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

