A life on the ocean wave! A home on the rolling deep! Where the scattered waters rave, and the winds their revels keep!

This is what my Mother would sing when we went out in the boat in Scotland. Each time I go out on a boat I find myself singing it too. I sang it today. I decide to repeat yesterday’s trip to Dog Patch and Hunter’s Point but this time taking a route about half a mile further eastward.

It is going to rain tomorrow

I think San Francisco looks best when seen from the water.

Living on your western shore

I love my boat but most of all I love my outboard motor. I have had it for 5 years but it is much older, what’s more it has travelled across the world twice. However, no matter where, no matter when, just give a couple of pulls and off it goes. I think I have been severely affected by a childhood of non-starting Seagull outboard motors. I am surprised and deeply grateful each time an outboard starts.

Thank you

This is a great adventure. I go where no one goes very often; cruising up beside confused pelicans, coasting along the side of huge ships, singing.

A life on the ocean wave! A home on the rolling deep!
Where the scattered waters rave, and the winds their revels keep!
Like an eagle caged I pine, on this dull unchanging shore.
Oh give me the flashing brine! The spray and the tempest roar!
A life on the ocean wave! A home on the rolling deep!
Where the scattered waters rave, and the winds their revels keep!
The winds, the winds, the winds their revels keep!
The winds, the winds, the winds their revels keep!
 

The land is no longer in view, the clouds have begun to frown
But with a stout vessel and crew we’ll say let the storm come down!
And the song of our hearts shall be, while the winds and waters rave.
A life on the heaving sea! A home on the bounding wave!
A life on the ocean wave! A home on the rolling deep!
Where the scattered waters rave, and the winds their revels keep!
The winds, the winds, the winds their revels keep!
The winds, the winds, the winds their revels keep!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAlSXeo-sBY

Big boats

Never understood why they call these Brown Pelicans.

Big boat with strange structure on the back bit

California Gull

Very big boat in dry dock

The antiquity of the race of MacNiel is undoubted. It is indicated in the jocular tradition that the chief of the clan, on the occasion of the great flood of the Biblical narrative, refused Noah’s offer of hospitality, saying that “the MacNiel had a boat of his own! ”

I too have a boat of my own!

However the temperature started to fall, the waves got up a bit, stratus streaked the sky. I fear we have seen the last of the good weather.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A life on the ocean wave! A home on the rolling deep! Where the scattered waters rave, and the winds their revels keep!

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    The Spanish word for pelican is alcatraz (no surprise there) which in turn, apparently, is Arabic for bucket (no surprise there either).

    • Hi Mike,
      Delighted that you are reading the blog. I think the original word is arabic and the Spaniards applied it to the pelican whose beak can hold more than its belly can. The Islandbeing where they would roost. I think I will blog about this.

  2. Mike Taylor says:

    Clever fellows those Arabs. They also invented algebra and, ironically, alcohol but not alfresco, or Al Gore.
    Where would we be without them? Alarmingthought.

Leave a Reply

