Sunrise – Sunset

Yay ! The next restaurant on the street of eternal glee is Lebanese. It is called The Sunrise Deli  – it is in the Sunset District. I have been eating a lot of generally excellent Asian food so I have been looking forward to a change.

I cycle over from boxing and I am starving and very thirsty. I order a Lamb Shawarma plate $7.99.

There are a few Formica topped tables and shelves of Lebanese products for sale. It is the first restaurant where I have not been immediately given a glass of water. Bad move, as I am extremely thirsty and it puts me in a bad mood. I buy a yoghurt drink from the fridge. The food arrives in a throwaway metallic dish. It is a pile of shavings of lamb with a few fried onions, some olives and pickled cabbage plonked on top of a layer of hummus. The lamb is dry and chewy with no specific taste. The hummus is very good.

Cause a riot in most gaols

However the presentation makes it taste like something from a prison cafeteria. You have guessed it – I have never eaten in a prison cafeteria, but you know what I mean.

It eat it with no interest or pleasure.

Walk on by

In it’s defence, the deli really caters for the take away business. It boasts the best Falafel in town. Also my plate should have come with Pitta Bread but I shunned it due to my eating disorder or diet.  That said, all in all the worst place I have had lunch. Sun going down methinks.

Sunrise

Sunrise

Couldn’t tempt me if it tried

Cuz the opportunity’s already come and gone.

So to cheer myself up I went to the Sunset Goodwill Store across the road. I don’t know how it works but it sells incredibly cheap clothes. “All articles with green tickets – 50% off!” I get a cashmere sweater for $9.50 less than the meal and drink. Doesn’t take much to make me happy!

Snuggy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunrise – Sunset

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    Norah Jones.

Leave a Reply

