Visceral dread

OK, its Thanksgiving but it is also the most glorious day – crisp, sunny and crystal clear. Too good to waste on gluttony and watching  Football. So down to the sea again.

I set off from a launching slip very close to the AT&T Stadium and this time turn left and head towards the centre of town.

San Francisco Bay view

I do like to be beside the seaside

It is a little bit rough as I approach the Bay Bridge but the trusty outboard pushes us onward.

Bay Bridge Sailing

Take me to the bridge

I cruise along the Embarcadero.

Embarcadero  San Francisco

Bring me my bow of burnished gold, Bring me my arrows of desire.

I continue onwards to the Ferry building at the end of Market Street.

Ferry building

As far as I get

This is where visceral dread enters the narrative. Looking over the bows I can see a big black lump in front of me. Seagulls circle over it. I am seized with fear. Is it a dead whale? Maybe just a a Sea Lion flopping around on the surface. No matter, I am assailed with primal fear of the animal and turn right around. This has happened to me several times in my life. When confronted by  big animals, other than in zoos, I become very afraid and understand the caveman.

Who would true valour see,
Let him come hither;
One here will constant be,
Come wind, come weather.
There’s no discouragement
Shall make him once relent
His first avowed intent,
To be a pilgrim.

Not me, no Tarzan I.

Western Grebe

Friendly Western Grebes

SF Giants AT&T

Here be Giants

I turn for home as the sun goes down.

‘Now me lads be of good cheer
For the lrish coast will soon draw near
Then we’ll set a course for old Cape Clear
Jenny get your Thanksgiving oatcakes done.’

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visceral dread

  1. Peter Fisher says:

    What the hell is that new building on the first picture? Who ordered THAT? Looks hideous. You need to do something about it. What an eyesore, the whole place has gone to hell.

Leave a Reply

