Clang, clang, clang went the trolley!

Time to ramble around a bit. The area where I live has harbored many interesting people and by chance I stumbled across a treasure map. It indicates where celebrities of the hippy era stayed, so let’s go look.

Click on the map and it gets much bigger

Number 50 on the map is the house next to mine – 1646 Fell. Maybe Jerry Garcia lived next to me. But no it is only the Dungeon of Mistress Juliette – site of S&M scandal in the mid 70s.

The Dungeon of Mistress Juliette

On the way the to the IRS building, where I spend quite a lot of time, I pass by the home of boyhood hero, Wyatt Earp. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyatt_Earp The best present I ever received was a toy Buntline Special. It was Xmas. I was 9 years old. I loved it and I was Wyatt Earp.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buntline_Special

It appears he spent some time in San Francisco and lived at 1403 Golden Gate Ave.

This is where Wyatt Earp lived in his San Francisco period

Nice place to live.

Back from the IRS, I surge up the Wiggle and arrive on  Panhandle Park. I consult the treasure map and go sniffing for Celebrity.

122 Lyon - home of Janis Joplin. I would say it was built circa 1900 and had all the 'gingerbread' removed in the 1930's.

Janis Joplin seems to have moved around a lot. There are five houses on the map accredited as her residence. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Janis_Joplin

I bought a copy of her album Cheap Thrills in 1968 principally because it had  amazing cover art by Robert Crumb.

Big Brother and the Holding Company

Robert Crumb http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Crumb lived just across Panhandle Park at 301 Lyon St. The two houses are about 3 minutes walk away.

Zap Comics

Sid Vicious apparently lived here. I always thought he lived – not for long- in New York.

Chez Vicious- 32 Delmar Street. Degingerbreaded with added shingles

So this is a very famous one. 710 Ashbury home of the Grateful Dead.

710 Ashbury today

710 Ashbury October 1967. Linda McCartney took this photo

From Rolling Stone.

So, I am open to requests. Have a look at the treasure map and if there is a house you would like to see then add a comment.  I will do my best to take a photo for a future blog.

Peace and Love

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clang, clang, clang went the trolley!

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    Although it was the unexpected reference to tin which first attracted my attention (déformation professionnelle) I was delighted to find that Stannous Flouride (sic) is a very cool guy, a SF resident and guide, who can also be found on Youtube. Go see.
    By the way I like the nice, subtle touch of Big Red elegantly posing outside each house (except the Grateful Dead place, why’s that? Respect for the Dead ?)

  2. David says:

    How long until you have your place added to the map, Neil? Become an SF institution!

Leave a Reply

