Dutch Oven

The Geologist Cabin is as about as far away from anywhere that you can get. First go to Death Valley, then drive 40 miles up some bad news 4 wheel drive trail and you will see it on the right up on the hill. It is a one room stone built cabin with bits of furniture, an open fire place and a view that correspond completely to this Scottish boy’s view of the West. I have with me a 3 pound tri tip, some leeks, some mushrooms, some carrots and a bottle of red wine. Most of all I have my Dutch oven – the greatest cooking device ever invented. I start up a fire in the cabin’s fireplace and braise the meat in butter. I add the leeks, the carrots and the mushrooms and a couple of glasses of wine. I close down the oven and wander around trying to take photos of the star infested sky.
The fire is small- I do not have much wood and Death Valley has been remarkably lashed by rain. An hour later I serve, Daube de Boeuf aux Champignons, Poireaux et Carottes. It is incredible. God bless you Dutch Oven. Forget the great restaurants of the world. A meal like this, cooked over an open fire in the middle of nowhere, with the simplest of ingredients is what this pilgrim wants.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

