Avies

So then aim of this trip was to do birding in Mexico. I have seen bits and pieces on the road and at the seaside, notably Frigate Birds and Blue Footed Boobies, but everything changed today.
I came to Alamo as it has a reputation good birding. I contact the McKays who are local experts and they kindly direct me to an arroyo outside Alduana a village nearby.
It is frenzied- new species are everywhere. By the time I have walked 100 yards up the riverbed, I have seen 15 new species. Birds but not just any birds I mean like amazing birds. I look up and about a dozen Black Throated Magpie-Jays float over! They are huge, at least 3 feet long. Hummingbirds buzz me constantly. Yes, the Elegant Trogon, male and female, is there too. Woodpeckers hammer out a samba and dozens of smaller stuff keep me mesmerized all day.
Hooray! I love birdwatching. You are outside, you go for a long walk, in this case in amazing scenery, you are hyper alert and your brain buzzes with logic and analysis.Er the birds are pretty as well. Great way to spend the last day of the year.
Technology has changed birding. I now have a camera with a zoom lens. Rather than look through binoculars, seize image in head and fumble around in a field guide, I now take a photo and in the comfort of somewhere identify the bird from full size IPad screen. Now to hit the wild streets of Alamos on New Years Eve!
Wordpress seems pretty flaky on the IPad at the moment so I do not know if these photos will work.
Captions
Black Chinned Humming Bird
Black-throated Magpie Jay. – big
Streak-backed Oriole
Mrs Elegant Trogon
Painted Redstart

Streak Backed Oriole

Painted Redstart

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avies

  1. Alan says:

    That giant Jay’s tail is amazing!

    Happy New Year if you’ve recovered from visiting those wild streets.

Leave a Reply

