The Mission Bells Told Me

Time to go home. Roll Range Rover over the wide, wide desert.

El Elegante Crater. Just on the border

Big sky

I stop late at night in some town in Arizona, look out of the window and there is London Bridge! I used to sing “London Bridge is Falling Down”  at Kindergarten and there it is in the middle of the desert. It is looking pretty solid.

Not what you expect. Falling down?

I am hungry and next to the Motel there is a KFC. ” Sir, we ‘re just closing so if it’s OK we’ll throw in some extra chicken.” I am still eating it.

Back in USA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mission Bells Told Me

  1. Bob Logan says:

    In 1962, London Bridge was falling down. Built in 1831, the bridge couldn’t handle the ever-increasing flow of traffic across the Thames River. The British government decided to put the bridge up for sale, and Robert McCulloch, Founder of Lake Havasu City, Arizona, and Chairman of McCulloch Oil Corporation, submitted the winning bid of $2,460,000.
    The bridge was dismantled, and each stone was numbered. Everything was shipped 10,000 miles to Long Beach, California, and then trucked to Lake Havasu City. Reconstruction began on September 23, 1968, with a ceremony including the Lord Mayor of London, who laid the cornerstone. On October 10, 1971, the bridge was dedicated.

  2. Lara says:

    Hey Neil 🙂

    Nice blog. I like the way you write. I’d just like to add to the comment above that the song, London Bridge is Falling Down, stems from when the Vikings pulled it down when they decided they’d like to have London. I like that story as of course, I live among the Vikings now.

    I’d also like to say that I’m very jealous of your crater photo. I was in the US and somehow managed to drive past it and miss it completely, something I’m still kicking myself over. I suppose it’s not that hard to drive past a crater, really, although I presume there were signs.

    Well, looking forward to the Japan entries!

    x

Leave a Reply

