The World’s Best Christmas Cake

Martha’s mother makes hundreds of individual Christmas cakes as gifts for friends. She kindly gave us one. I then  packed it for my Mexico trip and drove it 3000 miles. I only remember it when I get back to San Francisco. I do not know if it was the trip that made it so outstandingly delicious or if all the cakes are just as good – the latter I assume.

Deck the hall with boughs of holly

The cake is moist, crammed with fruit and nuts. The top is covered with good things and glazed. However it is the flavour that makes it outstanding. I am not a fan of sweet things but the cake, though undeniably sweet, has a enough brandy to remove all stickiness-in-the-mouth-sensation. Thank you Mrs Sobrepena!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment